For this week’s project, I was required to post at least 4 photos to Instagram throughout the day. I was able to post one photo before I left for school, and another three at school from the art galleries.

image

The first photo I posted was of a sign kept in my backyard- “Home of the Wicked Witch and her Little Monsters.” I thought it was cute, and showed how important Halloween and similar themes were in my home.

image

The next photo was of an interesting set that called my attention. The gallery was filled with artwork from adults with dementia or other disabilities, and seeing what they had to say and seeing pieces of them really intrigued me.
One of my aunt’s commented, suggesting that I look into a play that is put together every summer in Laguna Beach. Turns out it, it’s a team of aspiring actors, actresses, and crew members that bring historic paintings to life. They have a commentator that tells facts about the painting, the artist, and those who work hard on putting it all together on that night. It sounds really intersting, and I do plan on looking into it when they start again next summer.

image

I posted a photo of very detailed work on a knife next. This gallery had lots of detailed work on pottery, plates, bowls, and knives. It was very interesting to see the details in each piece, and it made me wonder if I would have the patients to try something similar on my own.

image

My last post was of the very intriguing piece in the Dennis W. Dutzi Gallery. It gave a sense of eeriness, which really made me wonder what the message behind it could be. The prints were set up in a circle, with a small nest in the middle. Outside of the circle gave a sense of power, but once inside, I felt uncomfortable and like I was being looked down upon.

Each gallery had amazing and very interesting pieces. I’m so glad this is going to be a weekly activity, because I have been wanting to visit the galleries since I started at CSULB, but never had the time to stop by. Each gallery was so inspiring, and I hope for the best for each artist I was able to meet.